Kentucky is one of the easier states to research, because both agencies that matter to a dental practice publish real numbers. The Kentucky Board of Dentistry spells out its continuing education structure hour by hour, and the Radiation Health Branch's fee schedule is codified in regulation rather than buried in a form. This page collects what those official sources say, links to each, and is honest about the gaps.

Key takeaways

  • Dentists and dental hygienists both complete 30 hours of CE during their two-year license period. At least 20 hours must be clinical, at least 10 must be live and interactive, and up to 10 may be business operations, volunteer clinical work or professional meetings.
  • Renewal years are staggered: dentists renew by December 31 of odd-numbered years, hygienists by December 31 of even-numbered years.
  • Dentists who prescribe must take 3 hours related to KASPER, pain management or addiction disorders, counted inside the 30.
  • X-ray machines register with the Radiation Health Branch under 902 KAR 100:110. The fee schedule at 902 KAR 100:012 puts dental machines in the "industrial, dental, and other x-ray machines not specified" category at $89.25 annually.

Rules change, so verify before you act. Every item below was checked against an official Kentucky or federal page in September 2026. Fee schedules and CE rules are amended regularly. Confirm with the agency before you rely on any of it, and send legal, tax and employment questions to a dental-specific attorney or CPA.

Who regulates what

TopicAgencyOfficial link
Dentist and hygienist licensure and renewalKentucky Board of DentistryKentucky Board of Dentistry, dentists
Continuing educationKentucky Board of DentistryContinuing education requirements
X-ray machine registrationCabinet for Health and Family Services, Department for Public Health, Radiation Health BranchRadiation Producing Machines Program
Registration feesRadiation Health Branch, 902 KAR 100:012902 KAR 100:012, fee schedule
Amalgam separators and dental wastewaterUS EPA rule, enforced by your local pretreatment control authorityEPA dental effluent guidelines
Bloodborne pathogens, hazard communication, PPEFederal OSHA and the Kentucky state planOSHA
Non-compete enforceabilityKentucky courts (no dentist-specific statute located)FTC, September 2025 statement on its non-compete rule

License renewal and continuing education

The board's CE page gives you a structure, not just a number. Both dentists and hygienists complete 30 hours during their two-year license period, and those hours are divided:

  • At least 20 hours in clinical skills and knowledge.
  • Up to 10 hours in business operations, volunteer clinical work or professional meetings.
  • At least 10 hours in a live interactive format.

The live interactive minimum is the one that trips people up. If you buy a bundle of on-demand courses in December because it is cheap and fast, you can finish 30 hours and still be non-compliant. Book at least one live course, whether in person or a real-time webinar, early in each cycle.

Prescribers carry an additional requirement: 3 hours of CE related to KASPER, pain management or addiction disorders before renewal. Those hours count inside the 30 rather than on top of it.

CPR certification must be maintained but does not count toward the 30 hours. The board also notes additional requirements for specific categories, including recent graduates, sedation permit holders and specialty hygienists, so read your own category on the board's page rather than assuming the general rule applies.

The staggered renewal years matter for an office manager tracking a whole team. Dentists are due December 31 of odd years, hygienists December 31 of even years. Build two separate reminders rather than one shared "license renewal" task, because in Kentucky they never fall in the same December.

X-ray equipment: registration and inspection

Registration runs through the Radiation Health Branch inside the Department for Public Health. The program states that any person who possesses or uses a radiation producing machine in Kentucky needs a valid active registration, and that anyone bringing a machine into the state must give written notice at least two days before entry. That last rule applies to mobile and temporary use, and it is easy to violate accidentally when a vendor rolls in a demo unit.

The mechanics the program publishes:

  • Registration procedures are set out in 902 KAR 100:110, inside the broader radiology chapter at 902 KAR 100.
  • Applications use form RPS 402, the Application for Radiation Producing Machines, available in PDF and Word.
  • The branch also registers qualified experts and vendor or service providers, which is relevant when you hire someone to install or service a unit.
  • Applications and business correspondence go to rpm@ky.gov.
  • The branch registers and maintains records of radiation sources, tracks and inspects machines, and reviews and approves shielding plans.

That shielding plan review is the item to know before a buildout. If you are adding an operatory or moving a pan into a new room, the plan review is a step in the schedule, not an afterthought.

On fees, the regulation is clearer than the web page. 902 KAR 100:012 groups dental machines with "industrial, dental, and other x-ray machines not specified" at $89.25, while diagnostic machines are $131.25 and therapeutic machines are $525. Confirm which category your specific unit falls into when you file, because a CBCT is not obviously a dental-only device to a regulator reading a fee table.

The program page does not state an inspection interval for dental facilities, so treat inspection frequency as a phone call rather than a planning assumption. For the general mechanics, see dental x-ray registration and inspections, plus intraoral x-ray units and CBCT units.

Buying and selling used equipment in Kentucky

Registration is per machine, so the price of a used unit has a tail

Because Kentucky's fee schedule is per machine, every additional tube head you buy carries an ongoing annual cost, not just a purchase price. A bargain third intraoral unit that you rarely use still shows up on the registration every year. When you are evaluating a used purchase, add the registration fee and the service interval to the number you are comparing.

Ask any seller of a used unit, or of a whole practice, for the current registration paperwork and the machine list, then walk the building and compare. Mismatches are common and they are your problem after closing. Our pre-purchase equipment checklist and hidden costs of buying used equipment cover the rest of the diligence.

Installation, service and shielding

Kentucky registers vendors and service providers as well as facilities, and reviews shielding plans. Two practical consequences: when you hire a tech to install a used pan, ask whether the company is registered with the branch, and when you place a unit in a room that has never held one, ask the branch about the shielding review before the drywall closes. Our guide to disconnecting dental equipment safely covers the removal side.

Amalgam separators and wastewater

Kentucky has no separate state separator rule for you to chase. The federal EPA rule at 40 CFR Part 441 applies to dental offices that place or remove amalgam and discharge to a publicly owned treatment works. You must operate and maintain an amalgam separator, you may not discharge scrap amalgam or use certain line cleaners, and you file a one-time compliance report with your pretreatment control authority, usually the local sewer utility. EPA publishes a sample form, but your control authority may want its own. See amalgam separators for the equipment side and dental waste disposal for lead, chemicals and sharps.

Non-competes and employment

We could not point you at a Kentucky statute that sets numeric limits on non-competes for dentists. Unlike states that have written duration, mileage or salary thresholds into law, Kentucky enforceability is a question of case law and contract drafting, and we could not confirm the current standard from an official state source. Treat any confident summary you read elsewhere with suspicion and get a Kentucky employment attorney to read your actual agreement.

The federal layer is settled for now. The FTC's non-compete rule is not in effect: on September 5, 2025 the Commission voted to dismiss its appeals and accede to the vacatur of the rule after a district court held the agency lacked authority to issue it. That leaves state law in control.

For the negotiating side, read our national overview of non-compete agreements for dentists, then work through the associate contract review checklist and associate contract red flags before you sign or before you hand a template to a new associate.

What we could not confirm

  • Whether the $89.25 dental category in 902 KAR 100:012 is charged per machine or per facility in practice, and how a CBCT is classified. Confirm with the Radiation Health Branch.
  • The inspection interval for dental x-ray facilities in Kentucky. The program page does not publish one.
  • What training a dental assistant must complete before exposing radiographs in Kentucky. We did not find this stated on the board pages we read.
  • Kentucky renewal fee amounts for dentists and hygienists.
  • How Kentucky courts treat dental non-competes, and whether any statute limits them. This is an attorney question.
  • Kentucky limits on non-dentist ownership of a dental practice.
  • Sales and use tax treatment of dental equipment in Kentucky, including private-party purchases. Confirm with the Department of Revenue and your CPA.

Where to verify

Putting it to work

If you are an owner in Kentucky, the two calendar items that actually bite are the live-interactive CE minimum and the staggered renewal years for dentists versus hygienists. Put both in a shared team calendar with names attached. On the equipment side, treat every machine as an annual line item because the fee schedule is per machine, and call the Radiation Health Branch about shielding before any imaging equipment lands in a room that has never had it.

Related reading: x-ray registration and inspections, the pre-purchase equipment checklist, the compliance chapter of the operations guide, and the rest of the state resources directory.

This guide is educational content and does not constitute legal, financial, tax, or clinical advice. Laws and regulations vary by state and change over time. Consult your own dental-specific attorney, CPA, and state dental board before acting.